Arkansas Library Association Logo

Communities of Interest (COIs) are groups of Arkansas Library Association (ArLA) members who choose to organize around a type of library, type of activity, a special interest, or geographic area in order to further the mission of the ArLA. These groups are subject to ArLA rules. COIs are a benefit of membership and all voting ArLA members may join and participate in as many COIs as they choose. All internal workings of the COI are at the discretion of the members. They decide how to select chair(s), govern themselves, etc. The only ongoing requirement of an ArLA Community of Interest is to submit an annual report and a current contact person. A group must have at least fifteen (15) ArLA members to form a COI. Bylaws are optional at the discretion of the group (a sample bylaws template will be provided on the ArLA website to assist COIs should they want to govern with bylaws). The contact person from each COI will attend board meetings as liaisons between the governing body and interest groups. Petitions to form COIs are to be emailed to arlaexecbd@arlib.org, and will be reviewed by the ArLA Executive Board for approval.  forms:

Who do I contact to join a Communities of Interest?

Arkansas Library Paraprofessionals (ALPS)
Contact: Stewart Fuell, Chair
sfuell@cals.org

College and University Librarians of Arkansas (CULAR)
Contact: Brent Etzel, Chair
betzel@atu.edu

Community of School Librarians And Library Educators (COSLLE)
Contact: Quanta Wyatt
Quantawyatt@yahoo.com

Making Arkansas Libraries Accessible (MArLA)
Contact: Jessica Riedmueller, Chair
jriedmueller@uca.edu

Member Involvement
Contact: Becky Fischer
beckyf@salinecountylibrary.org

Mental and Emotional Lives of Library Workers (MELLW)
Kathleen Ashmore, Chair
kashmore@lonokecountylibrary.org

Public Libraries & Trustees
Contact: Joe Hudak
jhudak@cals.org

Reference & Instruction Services (RISci)
Contact: Shawna Thorup, Chair
sthorup@nwacc.edu

Social Media & Marketing
Contact: Susie Kirk, Chair
kirks@hsu.edu

Two Year Colleges Community of Interest (TYCci)
Tina Bradley, Chair
tbradley@asumh.edu

Youth Services
Ruth Hyatt, Chair
ruth.hyatt@ade.arkansas.gov

Communities of Interest Forms:

Petition to Form (interactive)

Petition to Form (.pdf)

Annual Report Form

Bylaws Template (example only)

Funding Request

Copyright © 2021 Arkansas Library Association. All rights reserved.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software