Arkansas Library Association Logo

  • Home
  • Intellectual Freedom Committee

Intellectual Freedom Committee

Adam Webb, Chair
Executive Director, Garland County Library
1427 Malvern Ave
Hot Springs, AR 71901

John McGraw Faulkner County Library
Adam Webb Garland County Library
Leslie Switzer Crossett High School
Betsy Fisher Clark County Library
Allie Stevens Gosselink Calhoun County Library
Suzanne Adams Bella Vista Public Library
Vanessa Adams Craighead County Jonesboro Public Library
Michelle Washington Pine Bluff Jefferson County Library System
Abby Miller Springdale Public Library
Hope Rider Faulkner County Library
Rebecca Kidder Saline County Library
Laren Anderson Mabee-Simpson Library, Lyon College
Carolyn Filippelli Boreham Library, UAFS
Amy Shipman Lakeside High School
Molly Quinn Fayetteville Public Library

Mission & Responsibilities

The Intellectual Freedom Committee is concerned with proposed or actual restrictions of Intellectual freedom imposed by individuals, committees, or administrative authorities on library materials or on the selection judgments, order procedures or administrative practices of librarians.

The Committee is concerned with proposed or enacted legislation at the national, state, local, and school district levels which might place library collections in jeopardy, or which might restrict, prejudice or interfere with free and unbiased selection, acquisition and circulation of library materials, and other professional activities of librarians, or which might otherwise restrict the basic concept of the freedom of inquiry.

The Committee is concerned with the continuing education of the library community (including librarians, library boards, and the general public) in understanding and accepting the philosophy and the professional practice inherent in the Library Bill of Rights and the interpretations issued from the American Library Association, the ALA Freedom to Read Statement, the Statement of Professional Ethics, 1981, access to Resources and Services in the School Media Program: An interpretation of the Library Bills of Rights (adopted 1986, amended 1990), and the Freedom to View statement.

ArLA Freedom Minute eNewsletter

Previous Committee Chairs

2020 - Shenise McGhee
2019 - Shenise McGhee
2018 - John Paul Myrick
2017 - John Paul Myrick
2016 – John Paul Myrick
2015 – Freddy Hudson

Helpful Links

ALA Office For Intellectual Freedom –
Freedom to Read Foundation –
LeRoy C. Merritt Humanitarian Fund –

Copyright © 1997-2023 Arkansas Library Association. All rights reserved.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software