Scholarship Committee

The Scholarship Committee encourages a higher standard of professional education for libraries in Arkansas by awarding scholarships and soliciting contributions to the scholarship fund.

Scholarships awarded are the Arkansas Library Association Annual Scholarship and the Arkansas Library Association School Library Media Specialist Scholarship.

The Arkansas Library Association Annual Scholarship will be awarded at the 2016 Annual Conference at the Marriott Hotel, Little Rock. Conference dates are November 13-15, 2016.

The application process opens July 1 and closes September 30. Submission information can be found on the application form. Please read over the Arkansas Library Association Annual Scholarship Statement of Policy before submitting application.

ArLA Annual Scholarship Policy (Word document)

ArLA Annual Scholarship Policy   (PDF)

ArLA Annual Scholarship Application (Word Document)

ArLA Annual-Scholarship-Application (PDF)

2017 Scholarship Committee Members

Scholarships/LEAF Chair:
Ashley Burris
Library Director
Lawrence County Library
115 W. Walnut
Walnut Ridge, AR 72476
[email protected]

Ashley Cooksey
Batesville West Magnet Elementary School
Batesville, AR
[email protected]

Brenda Miner
Rich Mountain Community College
Mena, AR
[email protected]

Jerrie Townsend
Phillips Community College of the University of Arkansas
Stuttgart, AR
[email protected]

Phyllis Burkett
Library Advocate
Jonesboro, AR
[email protected]

Valerie Thwing
Central Arkansas Library System
Little Rock, AR
[email protected]