Awards Committee

Mission & Responsibilities

The Awards Committee is responsible for selecting the winners of the various continuing awards which the Association bestows, and for any special awards which the Association may provide. The President’s Award shall be the purview of the President, and the Committee may coordinate and publicize its presentation. It will also be the responsibility of the Committee to extend a courtesy meal ticket to the award winner and one guest.

Awards Page

Duties of the Committee:

1. Set deadlines for nominations for the awards and publicize availability of nomination forms.

2. Solicit and evaluate nominations.

3. Make the final selections.

4. Publicize the recipients.

5. Coordinate the presentation of the awards at the Annual Conference (in conjunction with the Conference Committee and the ArLA Executive Administrator) with the responsibility for:

  • Table seating arrangements
  • Design and printing programs
  • Coordinate with the ArLA office in ordering and delivering of the plaques
  • Selection of awards presenters

6. The Committee will extend a courtesy meal ticket to the award winner and one guest.

Current Committee Members

Dwain Gordon, Chair
Deputy Director
Arkansas State Library
900 W. Capitol Ave., Suite 100
Little Rock, AR 72201
[email protected]

Teresa Inman
Media Specialist/Literacy Coach
[email protected]
Southern Regional Education Board
Paris High School

John McGraw
The Faulkner County Library System
1900 Tyler Street
Conway, AR 72032
[email protected]

Tina Murdock
Assistant Director
Torreyson Library
University of Central Arkansas
201 Donaghey Ave.
Conway, AR 72035
501-450-5248 (o)
501-450-5208 (f)
[email protected]

Jennifer Ballard
Director of Library Services and Lifelong Learning
Arkansas State University-Newport
7648 Victory Blvd
Newport, AR 72112
Phone: 870.512.7861
Fax: 870.512.7870
E-mail: [email protected]

Philip C. Shackelford
Library Director
South Arkansas Community College
[email protected]


Previous Awards Committee Chairs

2016 – Amber Gregory
2015 – Sloan Powell
2014 – Cathy Toney
2013 – Cathy Toney
2012 – Jamie Melson
2011 – Jamie Melson
2010 – Barbie James
2009 – Barbie James
2008 – Kaye Talley
2007 – Kaye Talley
2006 – Sandy Olson
2005 – Sandy Olson
2004 – Jamie Melson
2003 – Frances Hager
2002 – Bob Yehl
2001 – Bob Yehl
2000 – Barbie James
1999 – Alice Coleman