Arkansas Library Association Annual Membership Meeting Monday, September 24, 2018 Rogers Embassy Suites

- I. Call to Order President Dean Covington called meeting to order at 5:05 pm.
- II. Roll Call & Minutes Lynn distributed the minutes from the November 25, 2017 meeting for review. Jennifer Chilcoat motioned to approve the minutes and Johnice Dominick seconded them. The attendance sheet was circulated for signatures.
- III. Budget Lynn Valetutti divulged that the P&L statement from August 31, 2018, reflected a \$4,000.00 increase in comparison with August 2017. This is attributed to the influx of conference revenue. The Regions Bank checking account has a current balance of \$ 51,246.00 and PayPal's account has \$49,768.91. There is still a \$25,000.00 CD with Edward Jones that just rolled over for another six months. The P&L was circulated upon request. Crystal Gates made a motion to approve the budget and Britt Murphy seconded it.
- IV. ALA Councilor Report Lacy Wolfe submitted her report in Dropbox. Additionally, she reiterated the information that she shared at the Executive Board meeting regarding ALA. They reverted back to the Library Bill of Rights from 1991 since the new bill passed at the annual conference was redacted. She reminded us that the ALA mid-winter meeting is January 25-29, 2019, in Seattle, Washington.

V. President's Report

President Dean Covington highlighted the three major successes during his term as president. First, the Strategic Committee was organized and a three plan developed. Second, ArLA rejoined SELA and will be co-hosting the annual conference with them in Hot Springs 2019. Lastly, the Logistics Task Force was appointed to examine our management company and possible options that would work best for the organization. Judy Calhoun will steer the committee and the members are: Debbie Hall, Dwain Gordon, Lauren Robertson, Amy McGowan, and John McGraw.

VI. Old Business

VII. New Business

a. Strategic Plan- Dan Boice gave an overview of the proposed Strategic three-year plan for the ArLA organization. Dan Boice made a motion to approve it and Amy McGohan seconded it.

b. David Eckert announce the 2018-2019 election results: Crystal Gates – President elect, Lynn Valetutti- Secretary/Treasurer, and Lacy Wolfe – ALA Counselor.

c. David Eckert announced that Crystal Gates will chair the 2019 Conference along with Richard Theilig. It was discussed at the Executive Board meeting that the conference chair duty would be assigned to the President-elect going forward.

d.Logistics Task Force- Judy Calhoun will be the chair of this task force. Their charge is to evaluate our current management company and examine other opportunities that would be best for the organization. Committee members are: Debbie Hall, Dwain Gordon, Lauren Robertson, Amy McGohan, and John McGraw.

Division – Reports are listed in alphabetical order with new chairs and appointments listed below.

ArASL No report . No new chair elected

ALPS-Simone Kirk submitted a written report via Dropbox. Dalene Schrier will be new incoming chair.

Colleges and Universities- Autumn Mortenson new chair. Repot submitted via Dropbox

Public Libraries- John McGraw re-elected chair.

Reference & Instruction Services- Jessica Riedmueller elected chair. Jessica Riedmueller *submitted written report via Dropbox.*

Resources & Technical Services- Brian George elected chair. Report submitted via Dropbox.

Special Libraries- Report submitted via Dropbox

Round Table

Digital Services- Matthew Windsor was absent. Report was generated at conference and submitted *to Dropbox*. Brenda Brazile new chair.

Two-Year Colleges

Phillip Shackelford submitted report. Report was generated at conference and submitted to *Dropbox.* Ron Russ will be new chair.

Youth Services

Committee

Awards Judy Calhoun submitted written report via Dropbox.

Arkansas Libraries Managing Editors

Bylaws Lauren Robertson- Report submitted via Dropbox.

Conference

Daniel gave an overview of the conference in which we had 262 attendees. He announced that there would be a \$30,000.00 profit and he was corrected by the secretary. Upon review of documentation in Dropbox, there were costs that were not captured in his estimation

Emerging Leader

Future Conference Site

The conference is booked at Embassy Suites in Hot Springs, AR September 2019.

Intellectual Freedom

Legislative Committee

Marketing

Suzie Kirk gave an update on the social media activities promoting the conference. She requested assistance with marketing efforts and would like to implement a six-month advertising campaign for the 2019 conference six months before the event.

Membership/New Members No report

Public Relations

Scholarship/Leaf

Ashley Burris announced that there were 43 baskets raffled at the conference and it made \$1,555. The money will be divided between the Leaf and Scholarship funds. There was \$1,500 warded this year in scholarship. Carol Coffey volunteered to rewrite scholarship guidelines.

Web Services Ron Russ submitted a written report via Dropbox.

VIII. Items of Business

IX. Announcements-

X. Adjournment

New President Heard adjourned meeting.

Respectfully Submitted, Lynn Valetutti

Officers

President: Jil'Lana Heard Secretary/Treasurer: Lynn Valetutti President-Elect: Crystal Gates Past-President: Dean Covington

Division Chairs

ArASL Chair: Daniel Foutts ALPS Chair: Dalene Schrier College & University Chair: Autumn Mortenson Public Libraries & Trustees Chair: John McGraw Resource & Technical Services Chair: Brian George Reference Services Chair: Jessica Riedmueller

Round Table Chairs

Digital Services Chair: Brenda Brazile Two-Year Colleges Chair: Ron Russ Youth Services Chair:

Committee Chairs

Awards Chair:

Bylaws Chair:

Conference Chair: Crystal Gates Emerging Leader Chair: Rebecka Virden Intellectual Freedom: Legislative Chair: Membership/New Members: Crystal Gates

Nominating: Dean Covington Public Relations Chair: Susie Kirk Scholarships/LEAF Chair: Arkansas Libraries Managing Editor: Britt Anne Murphy Web Services Chair: Ron Russ