# Arkansas Library Association Annual Membership Meeting

Monday, November 25, 2017 Rogers Embassy Suites

- **I. Call to Order** President David Eckert called meeting to order at 5:05 pm.
- **II. Roll Call & Minutes** Lynn read the minutes from the November 14, 2016 meeting. Ashley Burris motioned to approve the minutes and Judy Calhoun seconded them. The attendance sheet was circulated for signatures.
- III. Budget Lynn Valetutti distributed copies of the current P&L statement from Jan-July 31, 2017, which reflected comparisons from 2016. The Regions Bank checking account has a current balance of \$ 108,584.22 which \$ 25, 812.35 is scholarship money. This money needs to be deposited into a CD. Nancy Ahearn made a motion to approve the budget and Johnice Dominick seconded it.
- **IV. ALA Councilor Report** Lacy Wolfe submitted her report in Dropbox. She reminded us that the ALA mid-winter meeting is February 9-13, 2018, in Denver, Colorado.

# V. Reports

#### Executive

President David Eckert stated that it had been a tough year with difficult decisions. The organization made a good choice moving to Prime Management Company for our administrative function and combining the ALPs and ArLA conferences. David handed the gavel over to Dean Covington as the new President of ArLA.

<u>Division</u> – Reports are listed in alphabetical order with new chairs and appointments listed below.

#### ArASL

Cassandra Barnett discussed the summer conference. They had 100 members attend. Colleen Graves was the keynote speaker and Innovational Hub gave a presentation. They did not make money at the conference due to an unforeseen expense. Amber Gregory from the Arkansas State Library received a grant to conduct a "Ready to Code Workshop" with Joel Spencer to collaborate with school libraries and public libraries. Ashley Cooksey submitted a written report via Dropbox.

#### **ALPS**

Simone Kirk incoming chair discussed the unrest during the past year with the cancellation of the conference. People were upset and many resigned. They are looking for a period of renewal with fresh ideas. There will be an InfoBits Conference on November 3, 2017. Devona Pendergrass submitted a written report via Dropbox.

#### Colleges and Universities

David Sesser submitted a written report. He discussed the activities of ArkLink and they are looking into bringing ACRL trainers next year.

#### **Public Libraries**

Anna Bates submitted a written report via Dropbox. They had sponsored Jenny Garner. They are looking into holding more virtual meetings and looking for ways to access members easier.

#### Reference & Instruction Services

Jessica Riedmueller submitted written report via Dropbox.

#### Resources & Technical Services

Carol Hanan submitted written a report via Dropbox.

#### Special Libraries

JoAnna Delavan submitted a written report via Dropbox.

# **Round Table**

#### **Government Documents**

Wendy Briley submitted a written report via Dropbox.

# **Digital Services**

Carol Coffey submitted a written report via Dropbox. The group had a name change this year.

They had 43 people attend the Unconference this year.

# Two-Year Colleges

Jay Strickland discussed the concern of the new funding program to two-year colleges.

Youth Services

#### **Committee**

#### **Awards**

Dwain Gordon reviewed report and submitted written report via Dropbox.

**Arkansas Libraries Managing Editors** 

### **Bylaws**

Lauren Roberston noted manual needs to be updated to reflect changes from last Board Meeting.

#### Conference

Rebecca Virden gave an overview of the current conference. There were 235 attendees.

Sponsorship and vendor opportunities had increased. She was receiving positive feedback from everyone. There was 235 attendees at the conference. Daniel Fouts will be the new conference chair.

### **Emerging Leader**

### Future Conference Site

The conference is booked at Embassy Suites in Rogers, AR again next year.

#### Intellectual Freedom

#### Legislative Committee

Lynn Valetutti read Hadi Dudley's report, which was submitted to Dropbox.

#### Marketing

David Eckert announced that Rebecca Harrison had moved to Tulsa and Suzie Kirk from Henderson State Library took over her position. Suzie expanded the Twitter activity, social media and email campaigns for the conference.

#### Membership/New Members

Judy Calhoun submitted a written report via Dropbox and gave an overview at the meeting. Currently, we have 520 members with 55 new members. In 2016, there was 518 members and 496 in 2015.

# **Nominating**

**David Eckert** 

# **Public Relations**

#### Scholarship/Leaf

Ashley Burris announced that we had 36 baskets raffled at the conference and we made \$1,310.00. The money will be divided between the Leaf and Scholarship funds. There was \$1,500 warded this year in scholarship.

#### Web Services

Ron Russ submitted a written report via Dropbox.

# VI. Items of Business

Dean Covington announced Jil'Lana Heard as the new President elect. She was not present. Cassandra Barnett requested a division list. Britt Murphy circulated a get well card for Karen Russ.

# VII. Announcements-

Daniel Fouts is the new chair for the ArSL Conference.

# VIII. Adjournment

New President Covington adjourned meeting at 5:50pm.

# Respectfully Submitted, Lynn Valetutti

# Officers

President: Dean Covington

Secretary/Treasurer: Lynn Valetutti President-Elect: Jil'Lana Heard Past-President: David Eckert

#### **Division Chairs**

ArASL Chair: Cassandra Barnett

ALPS Chair: Simone Kirk

College & University Chair: Jessica Reidmueller Public Libraries & Trustees Chair: John McGraw Resource & Technical Services Chair: Amy McGohan Reference Services Chair: Rachel Whittingham

Special Libraries Chair: Joanna Delavan

# **Round Table Chairs**

Digital Services Chair: Matthew Windsor Two-Year Colleges Chair: Philip Shackelford Government Documents Chair: Wendy Briley

Youth Services Chair: Diane Porter

### **Committee Chairs**

Awards Chair: Judy Calhoun

Bylaws Chair: Lauren Robertson
Conference Chair: Daniel Fouts, II
Emerging Leader Chair: Nicole Stroud
Intellectual Freedom: John Paul Myrick
Legislative Chair: Courtney Fitzgerald
Membership/New Members: Jil'Lana Heard

Nominating: David Eckert

Public Relations Chair: Susie Kirk Scholarships/LEAF Chair: Ashley Burris

Arkansas Libraries Managing Editor: Britt Anne Murphy

Web Services Chair: Ron Russ