Arkansas Library Association Logo

Special Libraries Division

Mission & Responsibilities

The Arkansas Library Association Special Libraries Division promotes and strengthens its members thorough statewide education, collaboration, advocacy and networking initiatives.

Joanna Delavan, Chair
Electronic Resources Librarian
4301 W. Markham, 586
Little Rock, AR 72205


In Arkansas, special libraries, sometimes referred to as information centers, are located in a multitude of settings. These include government agencies, international organizations, advocacy organizations, large corporations, banks and other businesses, news organizations, medical and/or health institutions, museums, law firms, not-for-profit organizations, research centers and university/college campuses, among others.  Special libraries serve a variety of special populations, including persons with special needs and those whose access to library services and materials are limited because of confinement, sensory, mental and/or physical health or behavioral conditions.

Previous Division Chairs

2017 -  Joanna Delavan
2016 – Janice Weddle
2015 – Dwain Gordon
2014 – Dwain Gordon
2013 – Dwain Gordon
2012 – Loretta Edwards
2011 – Michael Strickland
2010 – Jessie Burchfield
2009 – Diane Hughes
2008 – Shawn Pierce
2007 – Betsey Martin
2006 – Ava Hicks
2005 – Melissa Serfass
2004 – Susan Goldner
2003 – Sherry Owen
2002 – Janet Berry

Copyright © 2019 Arkansas Library Association. All rights reserved.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software