Arkansas Library Association Logo

  • Home
  • ALA Announces Call for Applications for Lois Ann Gregory-Wood Fellows Program

ALA Announces Call for Applications for Lois Ann Gregory-Wood Fellows Program

9 Jul 2019 1:48 PM | Ronald Russ (Administrator)

The American Library Association announces a call for applications for its inaugural year of the Lois Ann Gregory-Wood Fellows Program.  Click here for more information about the application process.

Lois Ann Gregory-Wood worked at ALA for fifty years, and for 27 of those years, served as the ALA Council Secretariat.  For thousands of ALA members, she was the face of ALA Council and governance.  The Fellows Program celebrates her leadership and accomplishments, as well as seeking to encourage understanding and participation in the ALA governance processes. 

The Fellows Program seeks applications from interested individuals for its inaugural year in 2020.  During this first year of the award, one individual will be selected to receive a grant totaling $2,500 to cover costs of attending two conferences: the ALA Midwinter Meeting in Philadelphia and Annual Conference in Chicago. The Fellow will work with a mentor and attend various governance meetings over the course of the conferences to observe and to learn. 

Applicants must meet the following requirements:

  • ALA member for at least two years. 
  • Must be a practicing librarian (with an MLS from an accredited institution or CAEP accredited Master’s degree with a specialty in School Library Media), a full time library staff member, a library trustee or friend board member. 
  • Must have worked as a librarian, library staff member, or served as a library trustee or friend board member for at least five years. 
  • Must have attended at least one ALA Annual Conference or Midwinter Meeting.

The application form opens on July 9, 2019, and applications must be received by September 30, 2019.  In the application, candidates will explain their interest in the program, and describe how this experience and knowledge will benefit ALA, their library and their career. The selection committee will consider applications in October, and the individual selected will be notified and announced by November 1, 2019.  Applications are available here.

Prospective applicants who have questions should be in touch with Jim Neal, Chair of the Selection Committee,, or Kimberly L. Redd,, at the American Library Association.  This is an exciting opportunity for ALA members to get an insider view of the governance of the Association and to consider expanding their governance participation and leadership roles.

LAGW Fellowship Selection Committee:

Jim Neal (Chair)
Trevor Dawes
Terri Grief
Caitlin Moen
Robert Newlen
Romelia Salinas
Ann Symons

Copyright © 2019 Arkansas Library Association. All rights reserved.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software