News and Notes

Laura Simon is the new Director of the Pine Bluff-Jefferson County Library, effective Jan. 23rd.  Her email contact is  Laura has a Master’s degree in Information Science and Learning Technologies with emphasis in Library Science from the University of Missouri—Columbia (2008).  Most recently she was director of the Artesia Public Library in Artesia, New Mexico.  She previously managed libraries from 2009-2013 at St. Luke’s College and a public school library in Iowa, where she obtained her teaching certificate.  She also managed a public library in South Sioux City, Nebraska, from 2005-2009.

Judy Golden, Director of the Clark County Library in Arkadelphia, is retiring with 40+ years of service.  Her last day on the job is Friday, Jan. 27th.

Beginning Wednesday, Feb. 1st, Ashley Parker-Graves is the new director of the Clark County Library.  Ashley Parker-Graves grew up in Texarkana, TX.  She attended Henderson State University from 2001 to 2005, during which time she earned her Bachelor’s Degree in dual majors: English and History.  In 2007 Ashley took her first library job as a Circulation Clerk for the Garland County Library, but soon after was hired by the Mid-Arkansas Regional Library (Malvern) as their Library Director, where she served until July 2016.  Ashley completed her Masters of Library Science at Texas Woman’s University in December of 2007.

Congratulations to Laura and Ashley on their new positions.  Best wishes to Judy upon her retirement!

Call for Proposals: ArLA Annual Conference Breakout Sessions

ArLA is now accepting breakout session proposals for the 2017 Annual ArLA Conference at the Embassy Suites Northwest Arkansas in Rodgers, Arkansas, from Sunday, September 24th through Tuesday, September 26th, 2017. The conference theme is “Spice Things Up at Your Library!”

Breakout session proposals can be submitted using the Arkansas Library Association 2017 Annual Conference Breakout Session Proposal Form: The deadline to submit session proposals is Monday, March 20th, 2017. All proposals will be reviewed by the ArLA Conference Committee.

We look forward to reviewing your breakout session proposal and good luck!

2016 ArLA Award Winners

Congratulations to the 2016 Arkansas Library Association Award Winners:

Ann Lightsey Children’s Librarian Award: Lisa Donovan
Distinguished Service Award: Donna McDonald
Frances P. Neal: Dr. Bobby Roberts
LaNell Compton: Sue Ann Pekel
Lorrie Shuff Paraprofessional Award: Lisa Holiman
Suzanne Spurrier Academic Librarian Award: Rebecka Virden
President’s Award: Ron Russ

More information about the ArLA Awards can be found at